Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Information Security Committee


The Information Security Committee is responsible for review and consideration of broad information security topics, cyber threats, and the IT security posture of the University and all its units and campuses. It has primary responsibility for the maintenance of the Information Technology Security Program. The committee will review compliance issues related to relevant laws, industry topics, and provide advice and counsel to the UIC Chief Information Security & Privacy Officer.

Objectives Heading link

  • Create and maintain inventory of IT services related to security, including college-level activities
  • Work with similar committees at other University campuses
  • Develop and evaluate performance measures for security
  • Act in an advisory capacity for Technology Solutions Security Office

Membership Heading link

Name Unit
Sandeep Dath (Chair) Office of Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services
Chris Barton Administrative Information Technology Services
Lalo Camacho Liberal Arts & Sciences
Julio Chavarria Honors College
Jie Chen College of Urban Planning & Public Affairs
Dean Dang Technology Solutions
Danyelle Edwards University Library
John Fyfe College of Business Administration
Christopher Hollenbeck School of Public Health
Troy Jones College of Dentistry
Jason Maslanka Chief Technology Officer
Doug McCarthy College of Medicine
Matthew Miller Student Affairs Technology
Therese Molina Jane Addams College of Social Work
Andrew Nichols Division of Specialized Care for Children
Manoj Pant College of Education
Bhavin Patel Office of Vice Chancellor for Research
Jahnvi Patel College of Architecture, Design and the Arts
Esteban Perez Technology Solutions
Kirsten Pielstrom Office of University Audits
Bala Ramaraju College of Business Administration
Shannon Reden Graduate College
Enesto Reyna College of Education
Matthew Riley Associate Vice Chancellor for Innovation & CIO
Steve Sabo Technology Solutions
Vinay Surpuriya College of Dentistry
Trisha Thurman Central Information Services-Administration - Peoria
Pedro Valencia College of Applied Health Sciences
Steven Van Poucke Technology Solutions
Ron Versetto College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Zack Virgo Technology Solutions
Jody Whisnant John Marshall Law School
Barry White College of Pharmacy
Yan Xuan Technology Solutions
Edward Zawacki Chief Information Security & Privacy Officer
Ilir Zenku Office of Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs